Cremation Requirements & Disclosures

  • The cremation CANNOT be started until 48 hours from the time of death. (Florida Statutes 872.03)

 

  • A Cremation Authorization must be signed by the legal next of kin(s) and be in the possession of the funeral home or cremation facility.

 

  • The Death Certificate must be completed by the funeral home, from the information provided by the next of kin. It is then electronically sent to the individual physician, or medical examiner of the district, which then must complete the medical portion of the certificate. The physician legally has 72 hours to complete and electronically send the certificate back to the funeral home and the state health department. The time frame for this is not always certain, since the physician is not always present in his office, and weekends and holidays are also involved.

 

  • No human remains may be cremated until the medical examiner of the district in which the death occurred, has reviewed the completed death certificate and a permit number has been issued by the State of Florida. The fee for the approval will vary depending on the district involved.

 

  • The cremation schedule of the crematory will determine the completion and the return of the cremated remains. The crematory’s normal hours of operation are Monday through Saturday, 9:00 AM to 5:00 PM.

 

  • We cannot make any guarantee as to the delivery of the cremated remains because of the above variable. We recommend that you do not schedule any disposition of the cremated remains until the completion time of the cremation process can be determined. Average turnaround time is 7-10 days from the date of passing.